Parenting

My Daughter and her “Broken” hair

The first haircut of our kids are always worth remembering. For my two older daughters I can still clearly recall the day they had their haircuts. I choose, a well known kids hair salon for their first time. I even kept some of their hair strands as a souvenir. Both of them even received a certificate from a hairstylist. They are all well documented. For my third, daughter, I want to make it extra special. Not only I want to do document it, I want to do the cutting of my own. After all, I have some knowledge in hairstyling. I have been thinking about it for months now however, I so love her curly hair that is why I am bit uneasy doing it. But yesterday, after seeing her having hard times and uncomfortable with her hair while playing and sleeping I decided to proceed and cut it a little bit short myself, as it is already became uncomfortable for her when sleeping. I get my scissor and my her barbie comb and go near her. Surprisingly, no resistance in her part, but I started doing my first cut, she gently, whisper to me… Are you still joking? whisper to me… “is this a joke Mama,? as I do every cut. My daughter keep uttered is this a joke.!? Probably, cannot comprehend what I am doing to her. Then, maybe she already realized that she already that this is not a drill. She suddenly shouted, why my hair are in the floor.? I can sense that she was little bit concern and upset already. After, a while tears were slowly going down her eyes, and she told meyou broke my hair…. You cut and cut and cut and cut. Now, my hair is broken. I am broken now.

If you are mother, and your little girl blame you for something it is a crushing blow. I know all you mothers out there can relate to me. Seriously, I made a mistake,  a mistake  of not explaining to her what we will be doing. I assume that everything will be alright and because she is still a baby, she will not be affected by what I have done.

She kept on telling me, that I broke her hair. But actually, I made a bigger mistake… I broke her trust, I broke my promise to do her no harm and by not explaining to her anything, I cause her harm ( at least for her own point of view). I feel like I made her a hostage of the situation. I underestimated her capacity to get hurt. Her capacity to feel betrayed. I guess this will also serve as a gentle reminders to us parents who loved their children so much but tends to overlook some simple rules and values in life, just like me. I guess because I am so excited, some I forgot he basic rules of parenting. Well, I learn my lesson and thank you to my daughter. Don’t worry dear you still look gorgeous, even with your “broker hair.”

 

10 thoughts on “My Daughter and her “Broken” hair

Leave a Reply

